Artistic Director

KaJeng Wong

 
Artistic Director

 

Pianist KaJeng Wong considers himself an outcast.

 

KJ’s unusual musical has quickly brought him to international stages since a very young age, performing in Europe, UK, North America, China and South East Asia. Studied with Nancy Loo for 7 years, his innate connection with her humanistic approach in music has largely influenced his upcoming path. His violin teachers include Yang Bao-Zhi, Michael Ma, and Ho Hung-Ying.

 

“Extremely overpowering, talented but controversial.”

 

KJ, being extremely active in musical activities, had won virtually every category at music contests with string quartets, solos, duos, orchestras and choirs in Hong Kong. Having temporary suspended his studies on piano for two years at age 13-15, KJ auditioned at Curtis Institute of Music on the violin before settling on the keyboard. Upon his return to the instrument studying with Prof. Gabriel Kwok, the head of department at HKAPA, he soon participated at international festivals such as Verbier Music Academy and PianoTexas. These opportunities proved to be crucial as he exposed to the teachings of the legendary Menahem Pressler, Yoheved Kaplinsky, Claude Frank, John O’Conor, Gabor Takacs-Nagy and Emile Naoumoff.

 

 ”Probably the most talented musician I have ever met.” – Claude Frank

 

KJ’s calling to be a musician, as well as a personal note of encouragement from Claude Frank, grew into the decision to study with Emile Naoumoff at the Jacobs School of Music. Within two months, he was the winner of the piano concerto competition; and performed Mozart’s Piano Concerto K467 with Maestro Uriel Segal. His talent as music collaborator was soon widely noted and was tirelessly sought as chamber music partners and choral accompanist.

 

KJ decided to take a gap year and did various social activities after his freshman year. Working closely with LoveFaithHope Charitable Foundation, he did various workshops on humanitarian and environmental themes in the community. These non-musical projects and ventures have awakened his thoughts that an artist should not only be exclusive on the stage. An Artist has a social responsibility to influence the society through his voice in art. His innovative borderline classical concert, “KJ & NG: Music is Music” in 2009, receives critical acclaim for its originality and ground-breaking form.

 

“A Special Pianist” – Martha Argerich

 

A documentary was made of KJ’s youthful passions, pursuits and ideals in 2009. “KJ – Music & Life” has received raving critiques and awards such as “Best Editing”, “Best Documentary” and “Best Sound Effect” from the Golden Horse Award. During the time when the docu was most widely distributed and seen in most countries in South East Asia, KJ experienced that fame and vanity should not be the end but a mean for an artist’s career. The Artist’s craft is the soul of an artist. Unfazed by the attention he accidentally received, his focus on his studies for the next three years with Prof. Naoumoff has proved to shape his musical understanding and mature personality.

 

“Most pianists are either virtuosic or musically deep, the unfortunate case for KJ is that he is genuinely both.” – Emile Naoumoff

 

His next chapter in Hong Kong has just begun. He is teaching privately, preparing for competitions/recitals and is serving as the Artistic Director of Music Lab. In Music Lab, he strives to influence the classical music culture in Hong Kong. The imbalance of high percentage classical music students but low classical concert attendance, the monotone of classical concert format, the lack of opportunities for his music colleagues, the absence of self-criticism, international stages… Music Lab exists to create and inspire. His upcoming concerts in December , “Season of Life” and “Chemistry” will prove to differ. Other upcoming projects include educational projects with schools, cross-overs concerts and chamber recitals.

中文

© Music Lab. All Rights Reserved.

藝術總監

黃家正

藝術總監

 

KJ音樂上的才華讓他兒時經在國際的舞台上贏盡掌聲,在歐洲、英國、東南亞、中國及美國演出。師從羅乃新老師七年,當中亦師亦友的關係對KJ在日後音樂上的發展有莫大的影響。他亦曾跟隨楊寶智、馬忠為及何紅英學習小提琴。

 

KJ活躍於各類型的音樂比賽,並憑其穩如磐石的琴技在不同的項目中屢獲殊榮。曾在13-15歲時休學鋼琴兩年,並在期間到訪柯蒂斯音樂學院應考小提琴。KJ最後決意歸於鋼琴,並師從郭嘉特習琴。其後,KJ於各大型的音樂節中亮相,包括韋比爾音樂學院音樂節及德州鋼琴音樂節,並接受梅納海姆.普萊斯勒、尤希維德.卡普琳斯基、克勞德.法蘭克、約翰.奧康納、嘉博.塔卡斯-納吉及埃米爾.拿奧莫夫的指導。

 

「或許是我遇到過最有才華的音樂家。」— 克勞德.法蘭克

 

受到成為音樂家的感召,以及來自克勞德.法蘭克的鼓勵,黃家正決定負笈美國印地安那大學雅各斯音學院學習,師從埃米爾.拿奧莫夫。短短兩個月內,他就贏得了一項鋼琴協奏曲比賽,並與尤里爾.塞加爾大師合作,演出莫扎特的鋼琴協奏曲K.467。從此,人們認識到家正的合奏才華,並爭相邀請其合作演奏室樂和合唱伴奏。

 

首學年完結後,家正決定休學一年,並參與社會活動。他與「信望愛慈善基金」合作無間,在社區主持了數個關於人道與環境的工作坊。這些非音樂的計劃與嘗試,讓家正明白到藝術家不應只屬於舞台。即便是藝術家,也有社會責任利用自己的聲音來影響社會。2009年他參與的創意跨界「吳懷世&黃家正—-音樂就係咁」古典音樂會,因著其原創性與突破而獲得好評。

 

「一位特別的鋼琴家。」— 瑪塔.阿嘉莉殊

 

家正年輕的熱情、追求與理想,於2009被紀錄片《音樂人生》拍攝下來。這齣紀錄片廣受好評,且獲得第46屆金馬獎最佳剪輯、最佳紀錄片及最佳音效獎。當《音樂人生》在東南亞廣泛流傳時,家正體會到名氣與榮譽應只是追求藝術的過程,而不是目標。技藝才是藝術家的靈魂。忽然被大眾包圍,家正卻沒有被迷惑。往後三年,他專注跟從拿奧莫夫教授深造琴藝,使他的音樂理解與個性都越趨成熟。

ENGLISH

© Music Lab. 版權所有